Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation

Top

Front Page > breadcrumbs: Schools > breadcrumbs: Franklin Preschool >

Working...

Ajax Loading Image

 

Franklin Preschool


Skip image

Story image 1_0
5c0032dc521f9

Franklin Preschool

 

Mission

Our current mission statement:

The Mission of Franklin Preschool is to provide a developmentally appropriate preschool 

experience for preschool children and their families of the Mattoon Community Unit School District #2. 

 

Franklin Preschool staff gathered to create the universal expectations we would like to see throughout the school.  The Superfriend roll out from the beginning of the school year is a result of that collaboration.  Staff determined that they want all students to understand and follow the following three standards.  Listening Ears, Watching Eyes, and Calm Bodies. Click the video to learn more about our expectations.

 

 

 

Screening:

Why: The purpose of screening is to provide families information regarding their child’s development; and identify children in need of early education services.

Who: children ages birth to five years old

What: Free developmental screening designed to measure a child’s development in these specific areas: 

            Vocabulary

Visual-motor integration

Language and speech development

English proficiency

Fine motor skills

Gross motor skills

Social skills

Cognitive development

Vision and hearing screenings

 

When: First Wednesday of each month (August through May)

Where: Franklin Preschool 1201 South 6th Street

Parental Permission is required to conduct screenings. Please call 217-238-8802 to schedule a screening.

 

Story image 1_0
5c0032dc521f9
Story image 1_1
5c0032dc521f9
Story image 1_2
5c0032dc521f9
Story image 1_3
5c0032dc521f9
Story image 1_4
5c0032dc521f9

 

Features of Franklin Preschool:

Blended Early Childhood classrooms

Researched Based Curriculum Aligned to the Illinois Early Learning and Development Standards (IELDS)

Family Involvement Opportunities
            Family Nights

            Family Days

Family Educational Opportunities

 

 

Recognitions:

Our Program has earned three Gold Circle of Quality awards from ExcelRate Illinois: www.excelerateillinois.com

 

Story image 1_0
5c0032dc521f9
Story image 1_1
5c0032dc521f9
Story image 1_2
5c0032dc521f9
Story image 1_3
5c0032dc521f9
Story image 1_4
5c0032dc521f9
Story image 1_5
5c0032dc521f9
Story image 1_6
5c0032dc521f9
Story image 1_7
5c0032dc521f9

 

Administration/Staff of Franklin Preschool

Jayme Holt, Principal

jholt@mattoon.k12.il.us

School Telephone: 217-238-8800

School Fax: 217-238-8805

1201 South 6th Street

Mattoon, Illinois 61968

   

 

 

 

Kris Maleske

Community Service Director

kmmaleske@mattoon.k12.il.us

 

 

Katrina Farris

Early Childhood Director

kfarris@mattoon.k12.il.us

 

 

Melinda Beals

Franklin School Secretary

BealsM@mattoon.k12.il.us

 

 

Hannah Jaco

Prevention Initiative Sectary & Screening Secretary

JacoH@mattoon.k12.il.us

 

 

Laura Welton

Speech Language Pathologist

weltonl@mattoon.k12.il.us

 

Rebecca Polston

PFAE Blended

polstonr@mattoon.k12.il.us

 

Tammy Foster

ECSE

FosterT@mattoon.k12.il.us

 

Lisa Gadomski

PFA Blended

LGadomski@mattoon.k12.il.us

 

Sarah Hardy

PFA

AlexanderB@mattoon.k12.il.us

 

 

Katie Coop 

PFAE Blended

HardyS@mattoon.k12.il.us

 

 

Amanda Titus

PFA Blended

atitus@mattoon.k12.il.us

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Screenings:

Franklin Preschool Offers Free Developmental Screening the first Wednesday of each month.

If you are interested in having your child screened please call 217-238-8802.  

Resources:

Illinois Early Learning and Development Standards

http://www.excelerateillinois.com/

 

 

  • Facebook Icon

Mattoon Community Unit School District 21701 Charleston AvenueMattoon, IL  61938

Sign up for the News Update.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

Back To Top