Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


Front Page > breadcrumbs: Schools > breadcrumbs: Riddle Elementary School > breadcrumbs: Media Center >


Ajax Loading Image


Series and Sequels

How to find out "what's next?"

Many students eagerly anticipate the newest book in a series.  Once they get started, they keep eating them up! Benefits to reading books in a series are: one knows what to read next, one is familiar with the characters and the setting, and one is familiar with the author's style of writing.

When reading series books, students may want to keep in mind that some series are better to read in sequence, such as Harry Potter, and the Little House on the Prairie books.  Readers can watch the characters grow and change, and they won't miss any important events or action.  

Other series need not be read in a particular order, such as Magic Tree House, Time Warp Trio, Chet Gecko Mysteries, and Junie B. Jones.  Once readers are introduced to the characters, they can pick and choose which titles to enjoy.

Some series make it easy to find out the order of the books.  You can look at:

  • the number on the cover or spine of the book
  • author information on the jacket flap of the book
  • the list of books by the author (near the title page)
  • the copyright dates
  • our OPAC which tells the series number

If you are still stumped, the following website can come in very handy!  The link below is a site developed and maintained by the Mid-Continent Public Library--headquarters located in Independence, MO.  You can search for a series by Series title, book title, author, or subject.

Happy Reading!



Related Sites

Note: Pages will open in a new browser window. External pages are not endorsed by Mattoon Community Unit School District 2.

  • Facebook Icon

Mattoon Community Unit School District 21701 Charleston AvenueMattoon, IL  61938

Sign up for the News Update.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

Back To Top