Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


Front Page > breadcrumbs: Schools > breadcrumbs: Mattoon Middle School > breadcrumbs: MMS News >


Ajax Loading Image


Sanders honored as IESA Scholar Attitude Award winner

Mattoon Middle School student Piper Sanders was named as one of the winners of the Illinois Elementary School Association 2020 Scholar Attitude Award.          

“For anyone who knows Piper, this recognition is well deserved,” said Nate Pugh, principal, Mattoon Middle School.

A panel of judges consisting of coaches, athletic directors, principals, and superintendents reviewed the applications and selected one student from each of the 15 IESA membership divisions for the award. To be considered, a student from an IESA member school must be of eighth grade status, have a minimum grade-point-average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must have participated in at least one IESA activity during each year of their two-year junior high career, and demonstrated outstanding citizenship during their junior high tenure. In addition, each student is required to submit an essay titled "The Value of Sportsmanship."  

"I am pleased to announce the 2020 IESA Scholar Attitude Award Winners," said Steve Endsley, IESA Executive Director. "These 15 students represent the very essence of junior high school interscholastic activities. They have excelled in the classroom, on the athletic fields, in fine arts activities, and have demonstrated outstanding leadership in their communities. When this award was created 22 years ago, I was amazed at the caliber of students who won the award. Now, 22 years later, the students are equally impressive and given the advances in technology, bring so many experiences to the classroom. It is indeed an honor to be associated with students who have achieved so much and are so prepared for their high school careers and beyond. In addition to the 15 statewide winners, I also extend my congratulations to the students who applied but were not selected as it is a significant accomplishment just to be selected by their school to apply for the award."  

The 15 award winners, two guests of each award winner, and the school principal were scheduled to be the guests of the IESA at a luncheon on Tuesday, May 5, at the Doubletree Hotel and Conference Center in Bloomington. However, the coronavirus situation affecting the country has those plans on a tentative hold.  All award winners will receive a plaque, an award medallion and a gift card.  Further information regarding the recognition luncheon will be made available once any plans can be finalized.

Named as Scholar Attitude Award Winners for 2020 are:

Division A:  Madison Harvey, McHenry Parkland

Division B:  Kaylee Celus, Annawan            

Division C:  Annika Johnson, Sugar Grove Kaneland Harter

Division D:  Kenny Daggett, Mazon-Verona-Kinsman 

Division E:  Malachi Snyder, Marseilles ES 

Division F:  Alayna Filipiak, Peoria Academy

Division G:  Brynn Boundy, Gibson City GCMS

Division H:  Gianna Rawlings, Normal, Chiddix

Division I:  Kloe Froebe, Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell

Division J:  Jaycee Privia, Ashland A-C Central

Division K:  Ava Boyd, Mahomet-Seymour

Division L:   Piper Sanders, Mattoon

Division M:  Madelyn Beck, Springfield Lincoln

Division N:  Austin Wesley, Robinson Nuttall

Division O:  Julianne Hendricks, Edwardsville Liberty

A complete listing of prior winners is available at the following link:



  • Facebook Icon

Mattoon Community Unit School District 21701 Charleston AvenueMattoon, IL  61938

Sign up for the News Update.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

Back To Top